Starting error with desktop version

Suggestions, questions oder problems with regain

Moderator: thtesche

Starting error with desktop version

Postby hurrestara » Fri Sep 04, 2015 8:34 pm

Hello
I installed Regain's desktop version:
2.1.0 Stable/regain_v2.1.0-STABLE_desktop_win.exe 15,3 MB

I am trying to build the Index on the "localhost:8020/config.jsp" page, as proposed by the Start procedure
After adding all search and exclusion directories, when I press the "Save preferences" button (either on Chrome or Internet Explorer browsers), I cannot access the next page (Forbidden page with HTML Error 403.
It means that I have no rights to access the directory where the preferences are to be saved.
When I come back to the previous form page, all data written into the fields is lost.

Where should I authorize this saving process?
Is there a problem with Java? or whatever?

Thanks for any provided help
hurrestara
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 8:19 pm

Re: Starting error with desktop version

Postby deajan » Sat Sep 05, 2015 9:25 am

Hello,

I just tried to install regain desktop 2.1.0 on a Win10 x64 test box. No problem so far, running Java 1.8.0_31.

Just need to configure CrawlerConfiguration.xml (to update from german to another language for example), and SearchConfiguration.xml to replace the index location with
<index name="main" default="true" isparent="true">
<!-- The directory where the index is located -->
<dir>c:\program files (x86)\regain\searchindex</dir>
</index>


You should check whether your windows user has sufficient write privileges to %programfiles(x86)%\regain.
If not, you might get those errors.

Regards,
Ozy.
deajan
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 11:45 am

Re: Starting error with desktop version

Postby hurrestara » Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:27 pm

Thanks Ozy

I solved the issue by manually launching regain.exe as administrator.
The remaining issue is that I had to remove automatic launching from the starting tasks list of Windows.
So I do it manually each time I boot the system.
How can I modify the start list in order to force running regain.exe as administrator from my own user account?

Regards
Hugo
hurrestara
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 8:19 pm

Re: Starting error with desktop version

Postby deajan » Mon Sep 07, 2015 12:46 pm

Well don't use a startlist.
A quick and easy way to start a program as administrator is to setup a scheduled task as "ONSTART".
deajan
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 11:45 am


Return to regain

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron