Use desktop version as server?

Suggestions, questions oder problems with regain

Moderator: thtesche

Use desktop version as server?

Postby blahfunk » Tue Jan 26, 2016 1:57 pm

I can get the desktop version running without any issue, but I cannot get the server version to run. When I attempt to do the server version, I get an error when trying to connect to the webapp. I cannot tell if the error is in trying to setup Regain or in how I have the jsp server (tomcat) configured. Regardless, I can get the desktop version running fine, but I need to be able to server those webpages remotely, not just on this computer.

If I go to localhost:8020, I connect, but if I go to 192.168.0.1:8020, I am refused a connection, even if I am on the local machine. Is there a way I can get the desktop version to offer remote connections?
blahfunk
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 1:53 pm

Re: Use desktop version as server?

Postby Nalim27 » Tue Sep 27, 2016 10:15 am

Hello,
yes it is possible. Edit your Regain\conf\DesktopConfiguration.xml file and change there:
<allow_external_access>false</allow_external_access>

to

<allow_external_access>true</allow_external_access>

After it you can access Regain GUI from other computers in network.

But it can be be dangerous if regain machine is accesible from internet - there is no user access limitation so everyone can change your Regain configuration, look for your files etc. So use it in intranet networks only!
Nalim27
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 10:11 am


Return to regain

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron